The East: Electoral district 193

Erfurt – Weimar – Weimarer Land II
Erfurt Cathedral And Severi Church

"Tach Thüringen!"

The electoral district Erfurt - Weimar - Weimarer Land II is located in the heart of Thuringia and includes the cities of Erfurt and Weimar as well as the Gramme Valley. With Erfurt's city center as Germany's largest area monument, the cultural city of Weimar as well as the idyllic landscape of the Gramme Valley, which invites for hiking, this electoral district combines an exciting diversity.  

After three federal elections won by the CDU, the SPD won the electoral district in the 2021 federal election with Carsten Schneider. A total of four members of parliament represent the electoral district: Carsten Schneider (SPD), Antje Tillmann (CDU), Susanne Hennig-Wellsow (Die Linke) and Katrin Göring-Eckardt (Bündnis 90/Die Grünen).

About the electoral district

people live in Erfurt – Weimar – Weimarer Land II

Wahlberechtigte 193, Erfurt

of them are eligible to vote

Wahlbeteiligung 193, Erfurt

voted in the 2021 federal election

Thüringen 193

results of the 2021 federal election (second votes)

Thüringen 1

Erfurt – Weimar – Weimarer Land II  is located in the federal state of Bundesland Thüringen

For this electoral district in the Bundestag
Carsten Schneider (2021)©
Carsten Schneider 
directly elected
Antje Tillmann 2020 02 13 Deutscher Bundestag IMG 3025 By Stepro©Stepro, Steffen Prößdorf
Antje Tillmann 
Portrait SHW Krause Frei©Krause
Susanne Hennig-Wellsow 
Katrin Goering Eckardt 2020 Laurence Chaperon©Raimond Spekking
Katrin Göring-Eckardt
(Bündnis 90/Die Grünen)

Juliane Baruck

Do you have questions about your cover letter and the Electoral District Day in Erfurt – Weimar – Weimarer Land II?

Contact me.

Phone: +49 178 3164650 

Frequently asked questions

Electoral district 193, Erfurt – Weimar – Weimarer Land II,  is one of six electoral districts we selected for the Hallo Bundestag project. For the project, it is important that the six electoral districts reflect the diversity of the 299 electoral districts in Germany. To do this, we had to pick a combination of electoral districts. So the fact that electoral district 193 is included has to do with the overall selection.

To ensure that all regions of Germany are represented in the Bundestag, it is not the parties alone that determine who is elected. Instead, the country is divided into 299 electoral districts. In each of these electoral districts, people can stand as direct candidates for the Bundestag. The person who receives the most so-called first votes in the Electoral District in the Bundestag election is elected to the Bundestag.

In addition to the direct deputies who were elected in the electoral district, there are also deputies in the Bundestag who were elected via a list position. But these deputies also live in one of the 299 electoral districts. So in an electoral district there is always at least one MP who was elected directly and then, depending on the electoral district, other MPs who were elected via the list, but who also come from the corresponding electoral district.

The aim of our Electoral District Days is to give members of parliament as good a picture as possible of what people in their electoral district think, what concerns them, and what their attitudes and opinions are on issues relevant to politics. Since we cannot bring all 300,000 inhabitants of an electoral district into conversation with the MPs, we have to make a selection. Random selection ensures that everyone in the electoral district has an equal chance of being selected. In addition, random selection also better reflects the characteristics of the population in a smaller group than if we were to ask, for example, "Who would like to participate?"

The other electoral districts

The north: Electoral district 1

Flensburg – Schleswig

The West: Electoral district 138

Hagen – Ennepe-Ruhr-Kreis I

The South: Electoral district 246


East Berlin: Electoral district 83

Berlin-Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg – Prenzlauer Berg Ost

Westberlin: Wahlkreis 79